Parish Penance Service

Our next parish Penance Service (with visiting deanery priests) will be at 7 pm on Tuesday, November 28th.

The Sacraments of Healing
Christ, our physician, gives us two “sacraments of healing”: the Sacrament of Penance and the Sacrament of Anointing of the Sick. Through these two sacraments, Christian priests continue Christ’s work of healing the followers of Christ.

The Sacrament of Penance
Christ instituted this sacrament for the conversion of the baptized who have been separated from Him by sin. The risen Lord instituted this sacrament on the evening of Easter Sunday when he showed himself to his apostles and said to them, “Receive the Holy Spirit. If you forgive the sins of any, they are forgiven; if you retain the sins of any, they are retained.” (John 20:22-23)

Effects of this Sacrament
The Sacrament of Penance gives you: forgiveness of sins; renewed friendship with God; renewed friendship with the Church; a graceful life; freedom from eternal punishment; peace, serenity and moral strength.

Sins to Bring to this Sacrament
You should confess all mortal sins not already confessed in a previous confession. The confession of these serious sins is the only ordinary way to obtain forgiveness. “Mortal sins” are defined as sins against the Ten Commandments, committed freely and knowingly. Each Christian who has reached the age of discretion (around seven years of age) is bound to confess his or her mortal sins at least once a year and always before receiving Holy Communion. You may also confess venial (“lesser”) sins.

The Five Precepts of the Church:
1. You shall attend Mass on Sundays and on holy days of obligation and remain free from work or activity that could impede the sanctification of such days.
2. You shall confess your sins at least once a year.
3. You shall receive the sacrament of the Eucharist at least during the Easter season.
4. You shall observe the days of fasting and abstinence established by the Church.
5. You shall help to provide for the needs of the Church.

The Ten Commandments:
1. I am the LORD your God: you shall not have strange Gods before me.
2. You shall not take the name of the LORD your God in vain.
3. Remember to keep holy the LORD’s Day.
4. Honor your father and your mother.
5. You shall not kill.
6. You shall not commit adultery.
7. You shall not steal.
8. You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor.
9. You shall not covet your neighbor’s wife.
10. You shall not covet your neighbor’s goods.

The Seven Capital Sins:
1. Pride
2. Covetousness
3. Lust
4. Anger
5. Gluttony
6. Envy
7. Sloth

Act of Contrition
O my God, I am heartily sorry for having offended Thee, and I detest all my sins because of thy just punishments, but most of all because they offend Thee, my God, who art all good and deserving of all my love. I firmly resolve with the help of Thy grace to sin no more and to avoid the near occasion of sin. Amen.